Our ability to search resumes online has allowed us to grow at a pace second to none in our industry. Because of this, we are touching base with individuals who have posted their resumes that meet our requirements for the positions we have available.
Based on the career profile you provided us, you might be interested in the following job(s). Please review the job description(s) and if you would like to continue the process, send blank e-mail with the word "USASPECIAL" in the subject line to ustoday05@cox.net
0100 — Sr. Financial Representative
As a front line financial agent, you will be responsible for connecting different countries' financial markets by acting on behalf of our customers. All you need is an active bank account, good communication, internet access and desire to work as a big team. Get from 5 to 10% from each transaction!
This message contains information which is privileged and confidential and is solely for the use of the intended recipient. If you are not the intended recipient, be aware that any review, disclosure, copying, distribution, or use of the contents of this message is strictly
prohibited. If this confirmation notice was sent to you in error or to unsubscribe at any time, please click:
http://reg.e.usatoday.com/edit.aspx?0636442840
Thank you for using USATODAY.com.
Regards,
The USATODAY.com Team
For the latest news, please visit http://www.usatoday.com/
The fun part about e-mails like these is that they look legitimate. I'm pretty sure it's not, for several reasons. First of all, although my resume is online, this wasn't directed to the right e-mail. It was instead sent to an e-mail list I'm a member of, not one used by any one person. Second, although the links are legitimate, the e-mail address is suspicious. It's not at the usatoday.com domain--instead it's a cox.net e-mail, ustoday05, which isn't even reasonably close to its supposed source. Third, it specifically says that this business opportunity requires an active bank account, which is suspicious right there. Finally, the original source of this e-mail is, according to the header, in Brazil. So I'm guessing it's a phishing attempt, similar to the Nigerian e-mail scam: "Tell us your banking information and we'll put $10 million in it, trusting you to give us $9 million of it and letting you keep the rest as a commission." This is, of course, just a way to get your banking information so they can drain your account. That's essentially what phishing is--a legitimate looking e-mail trying to get people to give personal information, whether banking accounts, credit card numbers, passwords, or whatever--in order to facilitate electronic theft. And as any web-savvy person knows, you never send personal information via e-mail, whether it's someone you trust or not, because e-mail can easily be intercepted and read unless you encrypt it.




